Round Rock Public Library

Home / Catalog / Contact Us


Having trouble viewing this newsletter? Click Here

Picture Books February 2014
"At any given moment, someone, somewhere, is blowing a kiss.
And somewhere, someone is catching it."
~ from Amy Gibson's Catching Kisses
New and Recently Released!
Junkyard - by Mike Austin
Publisher: Beach Lane Books
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 01/07/2014
Share Junkyard ISBN-13: 9781442459618
ISBN-10: 1442459611
CRUNCH! CLANK ! SLURP! The giant Munching Machines are at work in a messy, stinky junkyard, chowing down on rusty boxcars, dirty dump trucks, crooked airplane wings, and other discarded items. Soon the Machines have cleared the yard of garbage, and as they set to work planting trees and building a playground, the colors in the cheerfully cluttered illustrations transform from dingy grays and browns to bright, natural tones. With its unfussy rhymes, noisy machines, and upbeat story, Junkyard is a fantastic, high-energy read-aloud.
Catching Kisses - by Amy Gibson; illustrated by Maria van Lieshout
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 12/31/2013
Share Catching Kisses ISBN-13: 9780312376475
ISBN-10: 0312376472
Every day, people express love by blowing kisses. But did you know that kisses look like dandelion fluff? And while some kisses "smell of ginger and cinnamon," some "SMACK! like bubblegum," and some are “velvet as peach fuzz,” all are meant to be caught. In crisp teal illustrations punctuated with splashes of glowing color, Catching Kisses shows the journeys of kisses as they fly from one person to another throughout the United States. You don't have to recognize the landmarks to be delighted by the gentle sweetness of this story, which (like Audrey Penn's classic The Kissing Hand) reassures children that love stays with them wherever they go.
Paul Meets Bernadette - by Rosy Lamb
Publisher: Candlewick Press
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 12/10/2013
Share Paul Meets Bernadette ISBN-13: 9780763661304
ISBN-10: 0763661309
Until Bernadette dropped in with a splash, Paul was content to simply swim round and round his fishbowl. But Bernadette shows Paul the wonders of the world -- at least, the world as it appears through the curved glass of their home. Kids will be amused as Bernadette confidently identifies a bunch of bananas as a boat, and will rush to correct her claim that the big blue thing pouring tea is actually an elephant, but like Paul, they'll be fascinated by Bernadette's unique perspective. Don't miss this whimsical tale about the power of friendship to ignite imagination.
Baby Bear - by Kadir Nelson
Publisher: Harpercollins Childrens Books
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 01/07/2014
Share Baby Bear ISBN-13: 9780062241726
ISBN-10: 0062241729
Wandering lost through the forest at night, Baby Bear encounters lots of other animals, all of whom have advice for the stray cub. Some animals are helpful ("Look up and keep going," encourages Owl) while others are silly ("Hug a tree," suggest the squirrels). Yet with their guidance, Baby Bear is lovingly shepherded home before sunrise.  Award-winning author and illustrator Kadir Nelson's lush, moonlight-drenched paintings create an atmosphere of quiet wonder in this comforting read that's just right for bedtime. If you're looking for another lost-and-found animal story, check out Come Along Daisy! by Jane Simmons.
Buddy and the Bunnies in Don't Play with Your Food! - by Bob Shea
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 01/07/2014
Share Buddy and the Bunnies in Don ISBN-13: 9781423168072
ISBN-10: 1423168070
"Hey guys!" shouts Buddy the monster as he barrels up to a group of adorable little bunnies. "Hop in my mouth so I can eat you!" The bunnies beg not to be eaten -- at least not until Buddy has had some of their fresh-baked cupcakes. After nine cupcakes, Buddy agrees to eat the bunnies later…never suspecting that cupcakes are just the first of the bunnies' many clever ploys to put off their doom. Fans of Bob Shea's rambunctious Dinosaur vs. books won't be disappointed by the exaggerated style and irresistible candy colors in his latest, hysterically funny offering.
Focus on: Robots
Oh No! (Or, How My Science Project Destroyed the World) - by Mac Barnett; illustrated by Dan Santat
Publisher: Disney Hyperion Books
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 06/01/2010
Share Oh No! (Or, How My Science Project Destroyed the World) ISBN-13: 9781423123125
ISBN-10: 1423123123
Winning first prize in the science fair is bittersweet when your creation goes on a rampage. As her giant robot wreaks havoc all over the city, a girl genius tries to find a way to stop the destruction and regrets some of her design decisions ("I probably shouldn't have given it a superclaw, or a laser eye..."). The illustrations in this dryly funny and exciting book combine the cinematic feel of an old horror flick with the energy of an animated cartoon.
Rabbit & Robot: The Sleepover - by Cece Bell
Publisher: Candlewick Press
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 09/11/2012
Share Rabbit & Robot%3a The Sleepover ISBN-13: 9780763654757
ISBN-10: 0763654752
Rabbit has invited his friend Robot to sleep over, and he's made a list of everything he and his buddy will do together. But right away, Robot wants to make some changes -- he'd rather play Old Maid instead of Go Fish, and he's not at all fond of carrots, lettuce, and snow peas as pizza toppings (he prefers nuts and bolts). But in this droll odd-couple story full of visual humor, the two friends are able to compromise and save their fun. With a slightly off-the-wall sensibility, this easy reader is a good pick for fans of Mo Willems' Elephant and Piggie books.
Boy + Bot - by Ame Dyckman; illustrated by Dan Yaccarino
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 04/10/2012
Share Boy + Bot ISBN-13: 9780375967573
ISBN-10: 0375967575
After a chance meeting, a boy and a robot play together and become friends. But when the robot's power switch gets tripped accidentally, the boy fears that his new pal is ill and takes him home to help him recuperate. When the boy's nurturing does no good, he tucks the powered-down Robot into bed and falls asleep himself; later, a second bump of Robot's power switch awakens him, and he worries that the sleeping boy is "malfunctioning." This charmingly illustrated story is not as as wild-and-wacky as James Burks' Beep and Bah but nonetheless holds lots of appeal for robot-obsessed little ones.
Traction Man Meets Turbodog - by Mini Grey
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 9/9/2008
Share Traction Man Meets Turbodog ISBN-13: 9780375955839
ISBN-10: 0375955836
The indomitable square-jawed hero from Traction Man is Here! returns in this 2nd hilarious, action-packed adventure of the imagination. After ascending Mt. Compost Heap (guided by an Ancient Potato who talks like Yoda), Traction Man and his faithful companion Scrubbing Brush must cross the muddy pond to get back home. Scrubbing Brush falls into the mud and comes out filthy, prompting germ-conscious Dad to replace him on the sly with the "utterly hygienic," robotic Turbodog. But Traction Man misses Scrubbing Brush and is determined to find him -- even if it means doing battle with the Evil Creatures in the trash bin!
Doug Unplugged - by Dan Yaccarino
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 02/12/2013
Share Doug Unplugged ISBN-13: 9780375966439
ISBN-10: 0375966439
Instead of going to school, young robot Doug is plugged in every morning so that he can download lots of facts. One day, as he's gathering data about city pigeons, a real pigeon lands on his windowsill. Intrigued, Doug unplugs himself and ventures outside, where he not only gets up close to a whole flock of pigeons, but also explores skyscrapers, subways, fountains, and the fun of playing with a real live friend. Clean-lined, retro styled artwork perfectly complements this joyful ode to low-tech learning. Want more of Doug's adventures? You're in luck: a sequel, Doug Unplugs on the Farm, is due out in July.
Contact your librarian for more great books!
If you are having trouble unsubscribing to this newsletter, please contact the Round Rock Public Library at
512-218-5400, 221 E. Main Street Round Rock, Texas 78664

© 2014 EBSCO Publishing, Powered by The Title Source TM