Round Rock Public Library

Home / Catalog / Contact Us


Having trouble viewing this newsletter? Click Here

Horror February 2014
"Suffering is a kind of horror. Blood is a kind of horror."
~ Bela Lugosi (1882-1956), Hungarian-American film star
New and Recently Released!
This House is Haunted - by John Boyne
Publisher: Random House
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 10/08/2013
Share This House is Haunted ISBN-13: 9781590516799
ISBN-10: 1590516796
In 1867 London, 21-year-old Eliza Caine's father dies, and she must look for a means of income. Responding to an advertisement, she takes a job as a governess at Gaudlin Hall in Norfolk -- but a mysterious power opposes her even before she gets there. There are no parents and few or no servants at Gaudlin, and her two charges are very odd children. Clearly, something is deeply wrong, and Eliza must discover the house's evil secrets before it's too late. With literary nods to gothic horror traditions, This House is Haunted provides a "subtle, satisfying tale of ghostly terror" (Publishers Weekly).
Starter House - by Sonja Condit
Publisher: HarperCollins
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 12/31/2013
Share Starter House ISBN-13: 9780062283054
ISBN-10: 0062283057
Looking for a convenient residence where they can start raising their family, Lacy and Eric snap up a good deal on an attractive house -- ignoring warnings about its history. Lacy, who is pregnant, realizes only after they've moved in that a hostile presence is determined to add her to its list of victims. A little boy named Drew, who may be the key to the dark mystery, befriends Lacy -- but only Lacy can see him. Disturbing events and coincidences gradually build to a horrifically violent climax in author Sonja Condit's compelling debut novel.
Dead Set - by Richard Kadrey
Publisher: HarperCollins
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 10/29/2013
Share Dead Set ISBN-13: 9780062283016
ISBN-10: 0062283014
What if you could communicate with the dead through special "records" that bring them back to life, as a musical recording brings back the sounds of long-ago performances? When 16-year-old Zoe tries out one of these unusual discs in hopes of bringing back her dead father, she's in for an experience in the otherworld she hadn't expected -- more like a nightmare than a dream. By contrast, Zoe's unsettling daytime world, where she must pass a strip club and a head shop on the way to school, seems like a safe haven when she follows the pathway to the underworld in Richard Kadrey's Dead Set.
Bleeding Shadows - by Joe R. Lansdale
Publisher: Subterranean
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 11/30/2013
Share Bleeding Shadows ISBN-13: 9781596065994
ISBN-10: 1596065990
Texan author Joe R. Lansdale explores the darker side of his native state through ten poems and 20 stories in Bleeding Shadows. The legend of Deadwood Dick (the fictional star of a 19th-century series of dime novels) gets a new look in a couple of stories, while several tales offer tribute to classic horror writers such as Edgar Rice Burroughs and Richard Matheson. "Dread Island" teams Huck Finn with Br'er Rabbit in a supernatural confrontation, while a story about a soldier unexpectedly returning home, "The Stars are Falling," applies the sensibilities of a classical Greek tragedy. This collection reveals Lansdale's superlative skill at crafting enthralling works out of his imagination.
The Heavens Rise - by Christopher Rice
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 10/15/2013
Share The Heavens Rise ISBN-13: 9781476716084
ISBN-10: 1476716080
Near New Orleans, water from an old well infects teenaged Niquette Delongpre and her manipulative, jealous admirer Marshall Ferriot with parasites that bestow strange powers. Soon, Niquette, with the rest of her family, dies in a car accident, while Marshall survives a fall from a high building that leaves him comatose -- but endowed with dark psychic abilities. In chapters that alternate points of view and moments in time, The Heavens Rise explores the connections among Niquette, her friend Ben, her lover Anthem, and Marshall against the background of natural disaster, official corruption, and racism in New Orleans. The suspense peaks in deadly violence, leaving the reader with both goosebumps and lingering questions about the nature of humanity.
Blood Red for Valentine's Day!
Blood Oath - by Christopher Farnsworth
Publisher: Jove Books
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 03/01/2011
Share Blood Oath ISBN-13: 9780515149036
ISBN-10: 0515149039
Secret agent Nathaniel Cade has sworn an oath to protect the president and the U.S. from supernatural threats. Cade is an unusual secret agent: he's a 140-year-old vampire who has served presidents since the administration of Andrew Johnson. In Blood Oath, the 1st in the Nathaniel Cade series, the vampire and his human co-agent Zach Barrows are assigned to head off a mad scientist who plans to marshal dead American soldiers he's revivified, but the agents are diverted to a more complex -- and dangerous -- conspiracy within the government. Blood Oath provides a roller-coaster ride that will leave you thirsting for more. Fortunately, you can slake your thirst on two additional books to date: The President's Vampire and Red, White, and Blood.
The Red Tree - by Caitlín R. Kiernan
Publisher: Roc
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 08/04/2009
Share The Red Tree ISBN-13: 9780451462763
ISBN-10: 0451462769
After writer Sara Crowe moves into a rural Rhode Island house looking for solitude that may help her finish writing her overdue novel, she discovers an unfinished manuscript about New England folklore and learns that its author committed suicide. He was obsessed with a giant red oak tree that stands nearby and has been the focus of supernatural and violent events through many years -- and now the tree and its eerie history become Sara's own nightmare. Kirkus Reviews notes references to H.P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allan Poe in this "evocative and chilling" novel.
Blood and Ice - by Robert Masello
Publisher: Bantam Books
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 07/27/2010
Share Blood and Ice ISBN-13: 9780553591965
ISBN-10: 0553591967
Enjoy a romantic tale entwined with a chilling tragedy? You won't want to miss this adventure of travel writer Michael Wolfe, who's gone to Antarctica hoping to let work assuage his grief over a recent personal misfortune. In Antarctica, Michael discovers a different calamity: that of a soldier and a nurse from England who met and fell in love in the mid-1850s. Like Michael, they were headed to Antarctica when their ship foundered and they went overboard. But their story's not over -- not by a long shot -- for Michael discovers their bodies, chained together and submerged in ice, and that's when the fun really begins...
Red Moon: A Novel - by Benjamin Percy
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Check Library Catalog Pub Date: 05/07/2013
Share Red Moon%3a A Novel ISBN-13: 9781455501663
ISBN-10: 1455501662
Dwelling among ordinary humans and suppressing their shape-shifting nature with drugs, lycans have been around for millennia -- but a new movement has emerged that presses for werewolf equal rights with increasing violence. Opposition to the lycan revolutionary movement has likewise escalated, and war has broken out in the Lupine Republic. A prion infection causes the condition known as lycanthropy, and ordinary humans never know when they might be infected --  or who already has been! Fans of Max Brooks' World War Z and Glen Duncan's The Last Werewolf shouldn't miss this sophisticated thriller.
Contact your librarian for more great books!
If you are having trouble unsubscribing to this newsletter, please contact the Round Rock Public Library at
512-218-5400, 221 E. Main Street Round Rock, Texas 78664

© 2014 EBSCO Publishing, Powered by The Title Source TM